Surfing the waves of self-made realities

I would like to share with you some of my latest experiences.

I have for quite a while lived with the insight that a being with a determined enough mind can actually change ALL rules of its experienced existence. Some weeks ago I went along with applying it in a practical experiment on myself. I decided to set the rule that my functional capacities would stay constant with neither sleep nor food. It worked well, with applying regular meditation ‘resets’. I felt neither tiredness nor hunger. But in the end, it felt a bit too alienating, so I didn’t pursue these possibilities further. I feel both our inner work and the work we can do for others in our surroundings take precedence over pursuing too extreme game changes. An appropriate comparison from fiction might be how in the Lord of the Rings, both Galadriel and Gandalf refuses to take on the ring, afraid of what they would become with almost limitless power. Too extreme changes also make for a lot of experiential ‘bouncing’, that is, different places and circumstances become extremely contrasting. Although, it has also been a time of some amazing and interesting new discoveries.

Just going between the home I live in now, and the home I lived in until the beginning of March has been a bit like stepping through portals between different worlds. It has taken quite a bit of time for me to calibrate or balance my state of being in this process. Looking back, I see that this is of course how life has always been, only I was not aware of my part in it. The unconscious mind was left to set the rules, and I had not yet the knowledge, insights and experiences to be able to observe, understand and change it consciously.

Another separate episodic and very positive experience I had recently was a completely new sense of effortless flow. The boundary between my thoughts and the rest of the world had in a sense dissolved and I was united with a more universal intelligence. All hesitation and doubt was completely absent from the tasks I performed and also absent when switching between them. Any item, idea and even person showed up exactly when needed. Everything was completely unplanned in the typical sense of using a calendar or clock, but it still followed a great marvelous rhythm. It was as if I was just going for a nice long walk without any purpose, except I actually was working on many different things. This lasted perhaps two days. I don’t remember now what exactly got me out of it, but I am sure it was me coming back into doubting myself in some way.

Now, from my experience of (at least temporarily) being an ‘enlightened’ person, without a very firm path to follow, is that a kind of reality-wave can form. Knowing that reality shapes and reflects every belief you hold, you get to freely choose what reality you want to experience. But how do you choose it? Is there any right or wrong? Here is a simple binary example to illustrate:

  • Believing in the lack of enlightenment in others. Now if you believe yourself to be enlightened, you become responsible for helping everything you perceive as not you to know the same truth. You will see and encounter everything you believe to be ‘wrong’ in the world.
  • Believing in everything else being already enlightened, perfect in itself. Accepting everything as it is. You will see your own loving reflection and the experience becomes quite paradisiacal, but it seems to not change or challenge you much. If you and everything else is Buddha, could it be that Buddha becomes bored?

I will continue my efforts to try to better ‘surf’ this reality-wave. Being part of an infinite reality, one thing is certain: there are infinite ways to create, learn and improve upon oneself within the experience.

Leave a Reply

